ATLAS Release 3.0

This is what users of SAP GTS must bear in mind

The changeover to ATLAS Release AES 3.0 is imminent. The release change also affects users of software for electronic export processing such as SAP Global Trade Services (GTS). What do you need to consider?

Blue containers are stacked on top of each other at a cargo port.

The most important facts about the ATLAS Release AES 3.0 in brief

  • Customs released 3.0 in March 2022.
  • Software providers such as SAP must certify their software solution for the new release in this course. SAP, respectively Seeburger as provider of the transfer software, have completed this certification in September 2022.
  • As a user, you must update your SAP GTS system (import patches or notes) and perform customizing manually.
  • At the latest by the end of the so-called soft migration, your system must be converted to the latest version.

We will gladly accompany you through the release change!

It can be assumed that the change to AES 3.0 will require major changes in your GTS. The adjustments published by Customs suggest that the scope of the functional and technical changes will, in total, require a considerable amount of time for users - a significant increase compared to past release upgrades.

We therefore recommend that you deal with the release change early!

Timely planning of the changeover ensures that it runs smoothly. We are happy to support you in planning and implementing the update. We accompany you during the integration, the organization of the test operation and also during training of your employees.

Which dates are important for the release change?

Customs' release schedule is as follows:

  • In March 2022 Transfer of the ATLAS Release AES 3.0 in live operation
  • Execution of certifications for the ATLAS release by the end of September 2022
  • Soft migration (i.e. the changeover phase for participants or users of software solutions) until July 16, 2023

What does it mean?

The preparation and implementation for users means a larger project. Customizing has to be done manually, trial operation has to be applied for at customs and comprehensive tests have to be performed for all processes. 

In detail, SAP has announced the following: Most of the notes are included in GTS 11.0 SP20 (planned release week 43/2022) or SAP GTS, edition for SAP HANA SP03, but a few are only included in GTS 11.0 SP21 or SAP GTS, edition for SAP HANA SP04. The so-called "delivery customizing" is only included in GTS 11.0 SP21, so it has to be done manually.

As a user of SAP GTS, you must have completed the changeover in July 2023. Even if the timeframe still seems to offer a lot of leeway from today's perspective, you should start planning early, because you have to consider a number of steps during the changeover.

What do you have to consider as an SAP GTS user?

As a user of SAP GTS, you must observe the following steps if you want to import the necessary Support Packages:

If necessary, preliminary work such as archiving must be planned and carried out. Archiving ensures that you need as little time as possible for the import of the actual update.

You must apply to the customs administration for a test run for the new release.

The system must be finally converted.

You need to perform technical rework such as an SPAU adjustment.

The test operation must be performed.

The changeover date must be coordinated with the customs administration.

Training for users may need to be provided.

 

Attention: Also keep in mind that other conversions may be necessary in addition to the SAP GTS adjustments: EDIFACT converters are no longer permitted after the release. You must therefore make sure that your converter is XML-capable and, if necessary, exchange the converter.

Are you due for an upgrade of your systems anyway? If so, check in good time whether you want to install the upgrade at the same time as the release upgrade. You can efficiently perform the necessary integration and tests at the same time.

What does the ATLAS Release AES 3.0 contain?

The ATLAS release has some effects that also affect the participant interface. So these are the functional changes that users of software solutions for the digital handling of export processes must also take into account in their systems.

Customs gives some examples of such changes:

  • Elimination of the export refund
  • "Foreign trade exporter"
  • Concept central customs clearance
  • ZELOS: transmission of documents, preliminary documents, transport documents and statements
  • Changed structure of the MRN: Master Reference Number instead of Movement Reference Number
  • New messages "Rejection for export" and "Rejection at exit".
  • Adaptation of all messages due to changed specifications of the UZK
  • Modification of data wreaths, codings and code lists
  • Final conversion to Unicode
  • Final discontinuation of EDIFACT

FAQ

You can read the most important information about the origin of goods and preferences here:

AES is an IT-supported export procedure. The abbreviation stands for "Automated Export System".

ATLAS is the customs software of the German customs administration. The abbreviation is made up of the words "Automated Tariff and Local Customs Processing System". It is used for both internal transaction processing and the automation of customs clearance.

Customs published the update in March 2022. Software providers such as SAP subsequently had to have their systems certified. The soft migration, i.e. the conversion of participants' software, must be completed by July 2023.

GTS stands for Global Trade Services and is a software solution from SAP that offers comprehensive functionalities for the automated processing of customs and foreign trade.

ATLAS Release 3.0

Das müssen Anwender von SAP GTS beachten

Der Wechsel auf das ATLAS Release AES 3.0 steht bevor. Der Releasewechsel betrifft auch Anwender von Software für die elektronische Exportabwicklung wie SAP Global Trade Services (GTS). Was müssen Sie dabei beachten?

Blaue Container stehen aufeinander gestapelt an einem Frachthafen.

Das wichtigste zum ATLAS Release AES 3.0 in Kürze

  • Der Zoll hat das Release 3.0 im März 2022 veröffentlicht.
  • Softwareanbieter wie SAP müssen in diesem Zuge ihre Softwarelösung für das neue Release zertifizieren. SAP, beziehungsweise Seeburger als Anbieter der Übertragungssoftware, haben im September 2022 diese Zertifizierung abgeschlossen.
  • Als Anwender müssen Sie Ihr SAP GTS-System aktualisieren (Einspielen von Patches oder Hinweisen) und das Customizing manuell durchführen.
  • Spätestens zum Ende der sogenannten weichen Migration muss Ihr System auf die neueste Version umgestellt sein.

Wir begleiten Sie gerne durch den Release-Wechsel!

Man kann davon ausgehen, dass der Wechsel zu AES 3.0 größere Änderungen in Ihrem GTS nötig macht. Die vom Zoll veröffentlichten Anpassungen legen nahe, dass der Umfang der fachlichen und technischen Änderungen in Summe einen erheblichen Zeitaufwand für Anwender bedeutet – eine deutliche Steigerung verglichen mit den vergangenen Releasewechseln.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen daher, sich frühzeitig mit dem Releasewechsel zu befassen!

Eine zeitige Planung der Umstellung stellt sicher, dass sie reibungslos funktioniert. Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Planung und Durchführung des Updates. Wir begleiten Sie bei der Integration, der Organisation des Testbetriebs und auch bei Schulungen Ihrer Mitarbeiter.

Welche Termine sind für den Release-Wechsel wichtig?

Der Zeitplan des Zolls für das Release sieht wie folgt aus:

  • Im März 2022 Überführung des ATLAS Release AES 3.0 in den Echtbetrieb
  • Durchführung der Zertifizierungen für das ATLAS Release bis Ende September 2022
  • Weiche Migration (also die Umstellungsphase für Teilnehmer beziehungsweise Anwender von Softwarelösungen) bis 16. Juli 2023

Was bedeutet das?

Die Vorbereitung und Durchführung für Anwender bedeutet ein größeres Projekt. Das Customizing muss manuell durchgeführt werden, der Probebetrieb muss beim Zoll beantragt werden und für alle Prozesse müssen umfassende Tests durchgeführt werden. 

Im Detail hat SAP folgendes bekannt gegeben: Die meisten Hinweise sind in GTS 11.0 SP20 (geplante Veröffentlichung KW43/2022) bzw. SAP GTS, edition for SAP HANA SP03 enthalten, einige wenige aber erst in GTS 11.0 SP21 bzw. SAP GTS, edition for SAP HANA SP04. Das sogenannte „Auslieferungscustomizing“ ist erst in GTS 11.0 SP21 enthalten, muss also manuell durchgeführt werden.

Als Anwender von SAP GTS müssen Sie die Umstellung im Juli 2023 abgeschlossen haben. Auch wenn der Zeitraum aus heutiger Sicht noch viel Spielraum zu bieten scheint, sollten Sie frühzeitig mit der Planung beginnen, denn bei der Umstellung müssen Sie einige Schritte berücksichtigen.

Was müssen Sie als SAP GTS Anwender beachten?

Folgende Schritte müssen Sie als Anwender von SAP GTS beachten, wenn Sie die nötigen Support Packages einspielen wollen:

Gegebenenfalls müssen Vorarbeiten wie eine Archivierung geplant und durchgeführt werden. Eine Archivierung stellt sicher, dass Sie für die Einspielung des eigentlichen Updates möglichst wenig Zeit benötigen.

Sie müssen gegenüber der Zollverwaltung einen Testbetrieb für das neue Release beantragen.

Das System muss final umgestellt werden.

Sie müssen technische Nacharbeiten vornehmen wie beispielsweise einen SPAU-Abgleich.

Der Testbetrieb muss durchgeführt werden.

Der Umstellungstermin muss mit der Zollverwaltung koordiniert werden.

Gegebenenfalls müssen Schulungen für Anwender durchgeführt werden.

 

Achtung: Bedenken Sie außerdem, dass neben den Anpassungen von SAP GTS auch noch andere Umstellungen notwendig werden können: EDIFACT-Konverter sind nach dem Release nicht mehr zulässig. Sie müssen sich also vergewissern, ob Ihr Konverter XML-fähig ist, und gegebenenfalls den Konverter tauschen.

Ist bei Ihnen vielleicht ohnehin ein Upgrade Ihrer Systeme fällig? Dann prüfen Sie doch zeitnah, ob Sie das Upgrade zusammen mit dem Releasewechsel einspielen wollen. Die nötige Integration und Tests können Sie effizient gleichzeitig durchführen.

Was beinhaltet das ATLAS Release AES 3.0?

Das ATLAS Release hat einige Auswirkungen, die auch die Teilnehmerschnittstelle betreffen. Das sind also die funktionalen Änderungen, die Anwender von Softwarelösungen zur digitalen Abwicklung von Exportvorgängen auch in Ihren Systemen berücksichtigen müssen.

Der Zoll gibt einige Beispiele für solche Änderungen an:

  • Wegfall der Ausfuhrerstattung
  • „Außenwirtschaftsrechtlicher Ausführer“
  • Konzept zentrale Zollabwicklung
  • ZELOS: Übermittlung von Unterlagen, Vorpapieren, Transportdokumenten und Stellungnahmen
  • Geänderter Aufbau der MRN: Master Reference Number statt Movement Reference Number
  • Neue Nachrichten „Rückweisung zur Ausfuhr“ und „Rückweisung am Ausgang“
  • Anpassung aller Nachrichten auf Grund geänderter Spezifikationen des UZK
  • Änderung von Datenkränzen, Codierungen und Codelisten
  • Endgültige Umstellung auf Unicode
  • Endgültige Abkündigung von EDIFACT

 

FAQ

Das wichtigste zum Warenursprung und Präferenzen können Sie hier nachlesen:

AES ist ein IT-gestütztes Ausfuhrverfahren. Die Abkürzung steht für „Automated Export System“.

ATLAS ist die Zollsoftware der deutschen Zollverwaltung. Die Abkürzung setzt sich zusammen aus den Worten „Automatisiertes Tarif- und Lokales Zoll-Abwicklungs-System“. Es wird sowohl für die interne Vorgangsbearbeitung als auch die Automatisierung der Zollabwicklung verwendet.

Der Zoll hat das Update im März 2022 veröffentlicht. Softwareanbieter wie SAP mussten anschließend ihre Systeme zertifizieren lassen. Die weiche Migration, also die Umstellung der Software von Teilnehmern, muss bis Juli 2023 abgeschlossen sein.

GTS steht für Global Trade Services und ist eine Softwarelösung von SAP, die umfassende Funktionalitäten für die automatisierte Abwicklung von Zoll und Außenhandel bietet.